Smoke On Go

Virginia Airshow a winner!

The Aero Club of South Africa’s annual awards too place in the Master Power Technologies Hangar at rand Airport on Saturday 25 November, recognising the achievements and service to general aviation in the country.

Smoke on…Go! and Creative Space Media were awarded the African Pilot Airshow of the Year Award for the Virginia Airshow which was resurrected after a 10 year hiatus.

David le Roux was master of ceremonies for the day on a scorching hot highveld afternoon and he and Chairman Rob Jonkers took charge of the proceedings starting with address from Rob highlighting the strides made by our recreational and sports aviators through 2023.

There were many awards handed out covering senior and junior Protea colours from the South African Power Flying Association and the South African Model Aircraft Association, including special acknowledgements for, among others, Nigel Hopkins and Barrie Eeles.

Stand out awards on the day included:

Youth Development Award – Felix Gosher, Children’s Flight

Matthew Cohen Trophy for Access to Aviation – Peter Hewitt

Don Tilley Trophy for Safety in Aviation – Roelf Palm

Dannis Jankelow Trophy for Airmanship – Rudolf Erasmus

African Pilot Airshow of the Year Award – Virginia Airshow

SA Eagle Trophy for Most meritorious achievement at an International Event – Alewyn Burger and Steve van der Merwe.

PGS Trophy for Manufacture and Design in South African Recreational Aviation – Pierre van der Walt and Abrie Muller of Performance Composite Aircraft Designs for the PCAD 700.

Gold Wings for at least 10 years of meritorious service to the Aero Club – Mauritz du Plessis, Martyn Evers and Cliff Lotter.

Lewis Lang Trophy for Pilot of the Year – Nigel Hopkins and Mary de Klerk for third place at the World rally Flying Championships 2022.

Aero Club Lifetime Achievement Award – John Illsley

Pictures of all the winners in the gallery below….




Subscribe to our newsletter for new blog posts, tips and news